Everydayfor60

Taking 60 seconds a day to make it a better one

49

I endured yet another rather unpleasant skin operation yesterday. it wasnt pretty. i normally like my toes curling under for an entirely different reason than the one the doc gave me.

This event was yet one more walk in the valley of a roller-coaster ride I’ve been on for more years than i care to share.

A[nother] lost connection and financial opportunity for my start-up, a series of emotionally jarring family setbacks, my frequent injuries and subsequent trips to the doctor, all have added up to a rather suboptimal series of events (and subsequent mindset) over the last few weeks.

In other words, things have to get better.  And I can’t wait to see the view from outside this damn valley.

The thing is, even when depression is knockin on my door, the little things have a way of making a significant mark on my way of thinking. Like when I was leaving the rather unpleasant outpatient procedure I experienced, and the nurse was taking my blood pressure.  What is normally a pretty mundane exercise turned my frown upside down (if even for a small second).

Why? Well, the machine was beeping wildly at one point, and both nurses turned to it, recalibrated the machine, and took my b.p. again. This happened twice.

If I wasn’t still so out of it, I probably would’ve gotten upset, but instead I just sat there – looked at the nurse with a quizzical expression, to which she replied “Oh the machine just reacts when one of the numbers its reading seems wrong.”.  [Now I started to get a bit worried].  She continued, “Your heart rate reads 49, so that seemed abnormal”.

I received a short explanation about why my heart rate was likely that low, and then I just got up, smiled and left.

This week is going to be great. The view is already better.

Onward and upward, always.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

